ST. DEMETRIUS’ CHURCH, also known as the lord’s church, the church of Baneasa and the Metropolitan Cathedral is the oldest and most important place of worship in Craiova. Located in the central area of the city, right next to the House of Banie, the church has been successively rebuilt over the centuries on foundations dating to the 11th and 12th centuries. It was built by Barbu Craiovescu, restored by Matei Basarab, repaired and remodeled by Constantin Brâncoveanu and local boyars (Obedeanu, Argetoianu) and rebuilt from the foundations under King Carol I. St. Demetrius’ Church is one of the most important spiritual centers and tourist attractions in Craiova.ST. NICHOLAS’ CHURCH/ BRÂNDUȘA CHURCH (№ 12 Brânduşa Street,) is a historical and religious monument of the XVIII century endowed with an intimate, deep atmosphere. The name by which it is known, Brânduşa, comes from the name of one of the oldest slums in Craiova. A reliquary is located near the altar. It holds relics of the Holy Martyrs of Hozeva (March 20) and the icon of St. Philoteia, which, according to a 1900 document, is declared to be wonder-working. It does not have towers and it is the only church in Craiova built in this style.THE ENSEMBLE OF THE HOLY TRINITY CHURCH (№ 9, Ioan Maiorescu Street), situated in the central area of Craiova, is an architectural complex of the 18th century with a spectacular past. After the earthquake of 1838, the church was repaired by Catinca Bibescu and her son, the great logos Barbu Ştirbei - the future ruler of Wallachia. With its inauguration, the château chapel of the Ştirbei family became a lord’s church. In 1906, the church was rebuilt on the old foundations, at the expense and under the sons of Barbu Ştirbei Voda, the princes Alexander and Dimitrie Ştirbei, according to plans made by French architect André Lecomte du Noüy.THE “MADONA DUDU” EPISCOPAL CATHEDRAL - known as the Mother of God Cathedral, is one of the largest Orthodox churches in Craiova. The church was built in Brancovenian style between 1750 and 1756 at the initiative of Gheorghe Ion and Constantin Fotescu. The church was named after the miracle-working icon of the Mother of God which, legends say, was found in a mulberry tree on the land where the altar was later built.The CHURCH OF St. Elijah (№ 2 Constantin Nicolăescu Plopșor Street) is one of the most important places of worship in the central area of Craiova and a metropolitan church. Situated in the immediate vicinity of Lipscani Street, the present church was built on the site of an older church, erected in the 18th century by the Otetelişanu boyars. The belfry of St. Elijah, now missing, is said to have been built on 7 floors and is taller than the famous tower of Colțea in Bucharest.THE MÂNTULEASA CHURCH (№ 59, Calea Unirii Street) was built on the foundation of an old wooden house from the beginning or the middle of the 18th century. At the initiative of the treasurer Barbu Ştirbei and with the help of the tailors' guild, a new church was erected in 1792 on stone foundations. Due to the significant contribution of the tailors, the church was dedicated to Saint Pantelimon, the patron saint of their guild. The name of the church - Mântuleasa - is found in the oldest documents of Craiova and has been used since 1795. It is believed that the name "Mântuleasa" originates from the Savior's mother.ROMANIAN - CATHOLIC CHURCH “ST. ANTON” – is first mentioned in a document dating from 1699. The original church was burnt and demolished when the Austrian control over the region ended. The catholic parish rebuilt the church in 1842.
THE LUTHERAN EVANGELICAL CHURCH (№ 13 Calea Unirii Street) was built in the middle of the 19th century for Protestants in Wallachia. The vast majority of them were made up of Protestants of different ethnicities, especially English, Austrian, Prussians and Russians settled in Craiova. Currently, the church hosts both the evangelical-lutheran community and the reformed community